Poston fires 32, wins Classic

Hickory golfer J.T. Poston shot a 32 to win Monday’s nine-hole Greater Hickory High School Classic at Rock Barn.

Bunker Hill’s Tyler Lail finished third with a 35. Fred T. Foard’s Sterling Cline and Maiden’s Thomas Lilly finished with 37s, which were tied for the fourth best score.

Other notable finishes from Catawba County golfers include Foard’s Christian Carpenter in eighth, N-C’s Hayden Bandy in ninth, Bandys’ Alex Hefner in 10th, Hickory’s Matthew Turner in 14th, St. Stephens’ Andrew Zachrich in 19th, Maiden’s Deric Huffman in 23rd and Bunker Hill’s Jeremy Buskirk and St. Stephens’ Logan Barkley were 27th.

Perry Davis and Nick Reitzel, of University Christian in Conover, were 31st and 36th, respectively.

The top-five participants in Monday’s high school tournament compete today with a celebrity at the Dale Jarrett Shootout.

Greater Hickory
High School classic results

1. J.T. Poston, Hickory 32
2. Jack Archibald, Statesville 33
3. Tyler Lail, Bunker Hill 35
T-4. Blake Childers, S. Caldwell 37
T-4. Sterling Cline, Fred T. Foard 37
T-4. Thomas Lilly, Maiden 37
7. Tanner Pearson, Alex. Central 38
8. Christian Carpenter, Fred T. Foard 39
9. Hayden Bandy, Newton-Conover 40
T-10. Alex Hefner, Bandys 41
T-10. Nathan Castle, Patton 41
T-10. Alex Rhyne, Alex. Central 41
T-10. Lendan Hoch, Freedom 41
T-14. Matthew Turner, Hickory 42
T-14. Cameron Taylor, Watauga 42
T-14. Jordan Clontz, Freedom 42
T-14. Hunter McCombs, Patton 42
18. John Tallent, W. Lincoln 43
T-19. Andrew Zachrich, St. Stephens 44
T-19. Mason McConnell, W. Lincoln 44
T-19. Dylan Cook, Watauga 44
T-19. David Wachter 44
T-23. Deric Huffman, Maiden 45
T-23. Andrew Johnson, Lake Norman 45
T-23.Payton Murray, Draughn 45
T-27. Jeremy Buskirk, Bunker Hill 46
T-27. Tyler Whitsell, S. Caldwell 46
T-27. Logan Barkley, St. Stephens 46
T-27. J.R. Little, Lincolnton 46
T-31. John Evans, Newton-Conover 47
T-31. Isaac Church, Hickory Christian 47
T-33. Perry Davis, University Christian 49
T-33. Caleb Lawson, Draughn 49
35. Dillon Houser, Lincolnton 50
36. Nick Reitzel, University Christian 51
Andrew Bates, Statesville WD
Ian Harper, Mooresville NC