Playoff pairings released: six area teams in action on Monday

The first round playoff pairings for Monday's games were released on Saturday.

Among those teams hosting home games are two girls' basketball teams, including CVAC regular season champion Newton-Conover and CVAC tournament champion Bandys.

The Lady Red Devils (21-3) will try to rebound from a tough loss to the Trojans in the conference tournament championship game on Friday. They host Starmount (10-12), the No. 3 team out of the Mountain Valley Conference.

Bandys will host Smoky Mountain High School. The Mustangs (11-11) finished the season ranked third in the 2A/3A Western North Carolina Athletic Conference.

Also in women's action, Fred T. Foard (14-10) will travel to play against Franklin High School (17-9). The Lady Tigers are trying to rebound from a tough end to their season.

Franklin is also a part of the Western North Carolina Athletic Conference and finished second among 3A schools.

In men's action, all three area teams that qualified for the playoffs will be traveling on Monday for games.

Newton-Conover faces Starmount, the No. 1 team from the Mountain Valley Conference.

Fellow CVAC team Bunker Hill travels to face the No. 1 team in the Western Highlands Conference – Mountain Heritage.

In 3A men's playoff action, St. Stephens (20-6) travels to take on Franklin. Despite their 11-13 record, the Panthers were the second-ranked team in the Western North Carolina Athletic Conference.

All host sites with one game will start at 7 p.m. The games at Franklin High School against the Fred T. Foard women and St. Stephens men will start at 6:30 due to two games at one site.

Other game times will be scheduled to start at 7 p.m.


Smoky Mountain (11-11) at Bandys (24-3), 7 p.m.
Starmount (10-12) at Newton-Conover (21-3), 7 p.m.
Fred T. Foard (14-10) at Franklin (17-9), 6:30 p.m.

Other league/area teams:
West Caldwell (11-14) at Shelby (22-0), 7 p.m.
East Burke (18-8) at Ashe (22-3), 7p.m.
Patton (9-14) at Hickory (23-2), 7 p.m.

Newton-Conover (13-10) at Starmount (17-5), 7 p.m.
Bunker Hill (14-12) at Mountain Heritage (19-6), 7 p.m.
St. Stephens (20-6) at Franklin (11-13), 8 p.m.

Other league/area teams:
Draughn (16-9) at East Rutherford (21-1), 7 p.m.
North Henderson (13-11) at East Burke (21-6), 7 p.m.
Ashe (17-9) at West Caldwell (23-2), 7 p.m.
Hibriten (6-17) at Freedom (21-6), 7 p.m.
RS Central (11-11) at Hickory (22-3), 7 p.m.