Local officials file for re-election

Several area officials registered to run for re-election Friday on the first day of filing for the 2011 Catawba County municipal elections.

Most of Maiden’s town officials due for re-election filed for candidacy Friday, including Mayor Robert Smyre, councilman David Boldon and councilman Max Bumgarner Jr.

Councilman Howard Ervin did not file, but non-incumbent Mike Moore did file for the councilman race.

“Well I think the town is running real well right now,” Smyre said, adding that he’s excited about what’s going on in Maiden right now. “We are in the process of maybe building a new city hall, and I’d like to see things like that completed.”

Smyre said the town is getting bigger with investments from companies like Ethan Allen and VonDrehle.

“We are in the process of growing, and I want to maintain the ability to grow and look toward the future,” Smyre said.

The three incumbent council members in Conover also filed for re-election Friday — Don A. Beal, Kyle J. Hayman and Penny M. Corpening.

In Claremont, Councilman P.J. Stanley officially registered for re-election.

Filing for the 2011 Catawba County municipal elections continues until July 15 for all cities and towns, excluding Hickory and Longview whose filing starts July 25 and ends Aug. 12.

There is a $5 filing fee for all municipalities, and those interested can visit the Board of Elections office at the Catawba County Government Center in Newton.