GHKC NOTEBOOK: Team Ned Jarrett wins Shootout

Members of Team Ned Jarrett were victorious during Tuesday's Dale Jarrett Shootout — part of the Greater Hickory Kia Classic week.

Winning team members include Ned Jarrett, Mark Talley, Bunker Hill High School golfer Jacob Lail and pro Ted Schultz.

In the nine-hole event, Lail drained a 20-foot eagle putt to give his team the winning 9-under-par score.

Dale Jarrett's team, comprised of himself, pro Fred Funk, Newton-Conover golfer Alex Hefner and Rock Barn owner Don Beaver, came in second place one stroke behind.

Below are the results of the event:

Dale Jarrett Shootout
1. Pro: Ted Schultz; Amateurs: Ned Jarrett, Jacob Lail, Mark Talley: -9
2. Pro: Fred Funk; Amateurs: Dale Jarrett, Alex Hefner, Don Beaver: -8
3. Pro: Mike Goodes; Amateurs: Donnie Allison, Austin Russell, Benny Yount: -6
4. Pro: Chip Beck; Amateurs: Chuck Swannack, Trey Burton, Percy Vaughn: -4

5 qualify for Classic

Thirty-two men competed on Tuesday at Lake Hickory Country Club for a chance to compete in this weekend’s Greater Hickory Kia Classic at Rock Barn.

Five men from that field advanced through the open qualifier, including former two-time GHKC winner R.W. Eakes, who was one of four men to tie for second place.

Bruce Vaughan, of Hutchinson, Kan., won the qualifying event with a 6-under-66.

Eakes, as well as Jay Delsing (St. Louis, Mo.), Mark Bucek (Winter Springs, Fla.) and Mark Mouland (Davenport, Fla.) were all one stroke behind.

Eakes is only one of two men, including Jay Haas (2005, 2009) to win the Greater Hickory Kia Classic on more than one occasion.

Pro-am takes place today

The Greater Hickory Classic Pro-Am takes place today at the Champions Course with the first of two days of competition.

Two Pro-Am groupings take place at 7:45 a.m. and 1:15 p.m. today.