Foard's Watts, Pierce named top NWC swimmers

A pair of Fred T. Foard swimmers were honored by the Northwestern 3A/4A conference this week for their outstanding achievements this past season.

The Tigers’ Jake Pierce and Leah Watts were named conference swimmers of the year.

Watts shares her honor with Hickory’s Janie Kennedy.

Along with her solo award, Watts was named all-conference in the 200-yard individual medley, 500-yard freestyle and 200-yard freestyle relay.

Other Catawba County girls swimmers named all-conference include Foard’s Kirsten Consing, Sierra Kincaid, Madelaine Robinson and Anah Whitener, St. Stephens’ Jessica Burgess and Marinela Procopii, and Hickory’s Abigail McRea, Samantha Merta and Natalie Bolick.

Leading the Lady Indians to a NWC title, LeeAnn Privett was named the conference’s top coach for the women’s teams.

Pierce is all-conference in two events — the 100-yard butterfly and 100-yard breast stroke.

St. Stephens’ Sava Turcanu, who won two state championships in the 200- and 500-yard freestyle events, also earned all-NWC honors.

Other all-conference selections from Catawba County include St. Stephens’ Sami Alkoutami, Collin Danner and Alex Ivanov, as well as Hickory’s Stuart Williams, Zach Killian, Reece Williams and Connor Pilgrim.