Close call in CCS board race

It was a tight race for the Catawba County Schools Board of Education, but two incumbents held on to their seats, while voters chose two new board members.
Incumbents Charlie Wyant and Sherry Butler will remain on the Board of Education for another four years.
Wyant, who served on the board for almost 20 years, said this year's campaign was one of the toughest yet.
"It's been good and educational," Wyant said of the election campaign. "I'm pleasantly surprised. Naturally, I'm happy about it. I felt like it would be a close race, but I had no idea that I might be at the top."
From 28 precincts in Catawba County, 74,992 residents cast their vote. From the votes, Wyant received 14,284 votes. Following behind Wyant was Butler with 13,783 votes; David Brittain with 12,680 votes; and Glenn Fulbright with 12,251 votes.
The new board members will take their seats Dec. 6 during the 5:30 p.m. Catawba County Schools Board of Education meeting.
Current board members Carolyn Jones Connor and Betty Blackburn will step down from their positions on the education board effective Dec. 6.