Skip to main content

Red Devils shutout Cavaliers on mat

January 28, 2012

Photo by Gene Leatherman/

Newton-Conover improved to 37-2 overall and 6-0 in the CVAC on the wrestling mat Friday with a convincing 76-0 victory against East Burke in Icard.

The Red Devils earned five pins in the match, including Ian Canrobert (40-2), Coleman Carter (30-8), Kyle Toomey (17-12), Tyler Benfield (38-3) and Jaron Pitts (23-13).

Newton-Conover 76, East Burke 0

106: Ian Canrobert pin Zack Leonard
113: Jonte Parker won via forfeit
120: Coleman Carter pin Austin Hildebrand
126: Franklin Wepner tech. fall J. Chandler
132: Casey Toomey tech. fall Dylan Hicks
138: Kyle Toomey pin Dakota Castle
145: Eric Holbrook won via forfeit
152: Addison Klutz won via forfeit
160: Nathan Reitzel m.dec M.Whisnant, 9-0
170: Colin Minor dec. Marvin Gaither 12-5
182: Rolen Benson dec. Trevor Hoyle, 7-2
195: Tyler Benfield pin Reid Cloninger
220: Jaron Pitts pin J.D. Boffamoyer
285: Ah'ron Hope won via forfeit.

Other prep wrestling scores

Maiden 35 South Iredell 30
106: Ben Mayo (M) dec. Garret Banette, 12-8
113: Jose Lopez (S) pin. Gavin Thomas
120: Phillip (S) win by forfeit
126: Zack Hubbard (S) pin. Jacob Hewitt
132: Bradley Webb (M) maj. dec. Huriel Solis, 13-6
138: Ethan Steward (M) pin. Blaine Shinn
145: Gage Isaac (M) maj. dec. Michael Tadlock, 10-1
152: Richard Kerekes (M) dec. John Bustle, 5-3
160: Jesse Queen (M) dec. Randy Brewer, 8-1
170: Evan Spears (M) tech fall Devin Aspaugh, 18-2
182: Brett Carlile (M) maj. dec. Ethan Kramm, 13-5
195: Steven Sipes (S) win by forfeit
220: Christian Hammonds (M) dec Julio Sanchez
285: Tyler Flowers (S) pin Taylor Thornburg

Foard 55, South Caldwell 13
106: Lane Bonds (F) dec. Jace Kemper 11-9
113: Dylan Cassidy (F) won by forfeit
120: Caleb Griffin (F) pin. Chanice Cannon
126: Mikey Vincent (F) dec. Ryan Oxford 7-6
132: Ben Pitts (F) pin. Scott Cameron
138: Sean Faro (SC) maj. dec. Tate Blanton 14-0
145: Ben Hughes (F) maj. dec. Hunter McNeil 10-2
152: Cody Watson (SC) dec. Jeremy Fredell 15-11
160: Trevor Cook (F) dec. Jake Marris 11-6
170: Chris Finley (F) pin. Cody Bowman
182: David Crouch (SC) pin. Caleb Bumgarner
195: Big Z (F) pinned Blayden Tucker
220: Nick Rotenberry (F) won by forfeit
285: Ryan Christopher (F) won by forfeit

St. Stephens 59 Hibriten 16
106: Blake Rogers (SS) wins via forfeit
113: Zack Berkey (SS) wins via forfeit
120: Bradley Bader (SS) pin. Benjamin Dacus 1:50
126: Corey Correll (HIB) maj. dec. Chris Hunt 11-0
132: Hunter Schronce (SS) pin. Andrew Burtchfield 4:39
138: Ian Martin (SS) tech. fall. Lucas Smith 16-1
145: Joseph Serrano (HIB) pin. Sergio Mendolia 4:59
152: Zach Fincannon (SS) wins via forfeit
160: Dakota Wallis (SS) dec. Aleigha Patterson 6-1
170: Warren Boyett SS) pin. Caleb Marshall 1:07
182: Cody Yelton (SS) dec. Hunter Penley 17-10
195: Dale Huffman (SS) wins via forfeit
220: Jacob Copper (HIB) pin. Matt Baker 1:01
285: Dillon Lominac (SS) pin. JT Dula 1:36

Other prep wrestling scores
Bunker Hill 57, Draughn 18
Bandys 72, Hickory 21
Bandys 54, West Caldwell 21
Bandys 40, South Caldwell 28

View more articles in:
Below is a look at Tuesday's American Legion baseball scores involving teams from Catawba County:...
A California boy with a dream of being a race car driver, Matt DiBenedetto’s road to the NASCAR...
The Hickory Sportsman’s Club welcomed Ole Miss quarterback Archie Manning for its bi-annual meeting...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes