PREP FOOTBALL: Six Catawba County football teams in playoffs

The preliminary brackets for the 2A, 2AA, 3A and 3AA playoffs have been released and officially, six Catawba County teams are in the postseason. The brackets became official Saturday evening once all records were verified.

Hosting home games in the first round are Maiden, Bandys and Hickory. The Blue Devils and Trojans are ranked as No. 3 seeds in their portion of the 2A and 2AA brackets, respectively. Both schools will host 5-5 teams in East Rutherford and Ashe County.

Hickory, who is in the 3A West bracket, will host a familiar face in conference foe Hibriten. The Red Tornadoes will try to repeat its success against the Panthers, whom they beat 34-28 on Oct. 14.

Also earning playoff berths are Newton-Conover, Bunker Hill and St. Stephens. All three will hit the road for first round match-ups in the postseason.

Newton-Conover travels to Forest City to face Chase in a first round match-up between No. 4 and No. 5 teams.

The Indians and Bears are No. 7 seeds. St. Stephens travels to No. 2 seed Crest, while Bunker Hill goes to No. 2 Smoky Mountain.

No. 8 Brevard (3-7) at No. 1 Lincolnton (9-1)
No. 5 Madison (5-5) at No. 4 Draughn (7-3)
No. 6 East Rutherford (5-5) at No. 3 Maiden (7-3)
No. 7 Owen (4-6) at No. Polk County (7-3)

No. 8 West Lincoln (4-6) at No. 1 Shelby (6-4)
No. 5 Newton-Conover (5-5) at No. 4 Chase (7-3)
No. 6 Ashe County (5-5) at No. 3 Bandys (7-3)
No. 7 Bunker Hill (5-5) at No. 2 Smoky Mountain (5-5)

No. 8 Hunter Huss (4-6) at No. 1 Franklin (10-0)
No. 5 West Iredell (6-4) at No. 4 East Henderson (7-3)
No. 6 Hibriten (4-6) at No. 3 Hickory (6-3-1)
No. 7 Tuscola (4-6) at No. 2 Burns (9-1)

No. 8 Enka (4-6) at No. 1 Asheville (10-0)
No. 5 Ashbrook (6-4) at No. 4 Erwin (8-2)
No. 6 Kings Mountain (4-6) at No. 3 Forestview (4-6)
No. 7 St. Stephens (4-6) at No. 2 Crest (7-3)

You Might Also Like