Skip to main content

Cougars edge Tigers for NWC wrestling title

February 10, 2013

(Photo by Gene Leatherman/

Alexander Central ended Fred T. Foard's two-year reign as Northwestern 3A/4A conference wrestling tournament champions on Saturday.

Trailing by 16.5 points entering the finals, Cougar wrestlers won five of their eight championship matches to help pull ahead of the Tigers in the final standings.

Four county wrestlers won individual titles, including Fred T. Foard's Trevor Cook and St. Stephens' Blake Rogers, Zach Fincannon and Warren Boyett.

Team scores
1. Alexander Central 195.5
2. Fred T. Foard 189
3. St. Stephens 135
4. Hibriten 101.5;
5. Watauga 88
6. South Caldwell 68
7. Hickory 10

Championship results
106: Blake Rogers (SS) dec. Issac Holler (FTF)
113: Mark Townsend (W) dec. Dylan Cassidy (FTF)
120: Augustus Coffey (W) dec. Brax Meade (AC)
126: Jonathan Zuniga (AC) dec. David Velazquez (SS)
132: Demetreus Kostis (W) dec. Ryan Oxford (SC)
138: Anthony Bowman (AC) dec. Ben Pitts (FTF)
145: Zane Knight (AC) dec. Andrew Burchfield (Hibriten)
152: Zach Fincannon (SS) dec. Jake Maris (SC)
160: Trevor Cook (FTF) dec. Tyler Reese (AC)
170: Warren Boyett (SS) dec. Caleb Bumgarner (FTF)
182: Dustin Jones (AC) dec. Christian Ohmer (FTF)
195: Kevin Alania (AC) pin Hunter Penley (Hibriten)
220: Jake Cooper (Hibriten) pin Andrew Christopher (SS)
285: Lucas St. Clair (AC) dec. Dillon Lominac (SS)

Consolation results
106: David Gonzalez (AC) pin Isaiah Hunt (Hickory)
113: Dokata Griffith (SS) dec. Ben Long (AC)
120: Michael Vincent (FTF) dec. Zach Berkey (SS)
126: Austin Hughes (FTF) pin Zach Laws (SC)
132: Alex Leatherman (FTF) pin Daylin Jackson (AC)
138: Tim Burchfield (H) dec. Colby McNeil (SC)
145: Ben Hughes (FTF) maj. dec. Sergio Mendolia (SS)
152: Tate Blanton (FTF) dec. Lucas Smith (Hibriten)
160: Cameron Chapman (SC) dec. Jake Page (W)
170: Derek Deal (AC) dec. Germaine Davenport (Hibriten)
182: Daquan Suddreth (Hibriten) pin Aiden Vetter (SC)
195: Jeremy Critcher (W) dec. Ryan Christopher (FTF)
220: Cameron Wilfong (FTF) dec. Garron Lytton (AC)
285: Dylan Curtis (FTF) pin Jon Minton (Hibriten)

View more articles in:
After spending nearly a week in Oklahoma, the Catawba Valley Community College baseball team's run...
Below is a look at Friday's American Legion Baseball scores involving teams from Catawba County:...
Below is a look at Tuesday's American Legion baseball scores involving teams from Catawba County:...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes