Skip to main content

Archive - Obituary

January 8th, 2014

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

January 8, 2014

Alma Elizabeth Seagle Reitzel, age 91, of Newton, passed away Monday, Jan. 6, 2014 at Shannon Gray Nursing Home in Jamestown, N.C. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Reitzel family.

January 7th

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

January 7, 2014

Betty Lou Miller Watts, age 59, of Conover, passed away Saturday, Jan. 4, 2014 at Catawba Regional Hospice in Sherrills Ford. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Watts family.

January 6th

Saturday, January 4, 2014

January 6, 2014

Samuel Harden Brookbank, 92, of Newton, died Thursday, Jan. 2, 2014 at Catawba Regional Hospice. Memorials may be made to Catawba Regional Hospice 3975 Robinson Road Newton, NC 28658.

January 3rd

Friday, January 3, 2014

January 3, 2014

John Ervin Cansler, Jr., age 69, of Newton passed away Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2013 at Carolina’s Medical Center in Charlotte. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Cansler family.

Charles Franklin Ingle, age 74, of Vale, died Monday, December 30, 2013 at Carolinas Medical Center-Lincoln. Burke Mortuary in Maiden is serving the Ingle family.

January 2nd

Thursday, January 2, 2014

January 2, 2014

Renee Sigmon Hedrick, age 58, of Claremont, passed away on Sunday, Dec. 29, 2013 at Catawba Valley Medical Center. The Hedrick family has entrusted funeral arrangements to Drum Funeral Home & Cremations in Conover.

December 31st, 2013

Tuesday, December 31, 2013

December 31, 2013

Mildred Josephine Sipe, age 85, of Conover passed away Friday, Dec. 27, 2013 at Catawba Regional Hospice in Newton. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Sipe family.

Saturday, December 28, 2013

December 31, 2013

Dixie Isenhour Bost, passed away Friday, Dec. 27, 2013. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Bost family.

David Antonio Pineda Jimenez, 35, of Lincolnton, died Dec. 23, 2013 at Carolinas Medical Center-Charlotte. Burial will be at a cemetery to be determined in Honduras.

December 27th

Friday, December 27, 2013

December 27, 2013

Ruth Elizabeth Drum Cromartie, 97, passed peacefully on Dec. 23, 2013, at Matthews Presbyterian Hospital, surrounded by her family. Burial will be at Sunset Memory Gardens. Please visit Ruth’s online memorial at www.mcewenminthillchapel.com.

December 24th

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

December 24, 2013

Thomas “Bubba” Lee Killian 60 of Maiden died Thursday, Dec. 19, 2013 at Catawba Valley Medical Center. A Memorial Service will be held Thursday, Dec. 26, 2013 at 11:00 a.m. at Temple Baptist Church in Hickory.

Elizabeth Bumgarner, 71, of Conover died on Monday, Dec. 23, 2013 at Catawba Valley Medical Center. Funeral arrangements are incomplete.

December 23rd

December 21, 2013

December 23, 2013

John Ryan Powers, age 30, of Newton, conquered sarcoma and went home to be with his God on Thursday, Dec. 19, 2013. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Powers family.

Brian Roberts started his NBA career in 2012 as a New Orleans Hornet. The 6-foot-1 guard agreed to...
After coming up short in the chase for Utah guard Gordon Hayward, the Charlotte Hornets have...
Below are youth football camps for each Catawba County high schools listed in alphabetical order:...

 

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes