Skip to main content

Archive - Obituary

February 6th, 2014

Thursday, February 6, 2014

February 6, 2014

Carlleen Murray Wike, 85, of Newton, passed away Monday, Feb. 3, 2014 at Abernethy Laurels in Newton. The Wike family is in the care of Robert F. Bennett, Funeral Service Licensee, 828-465-2111.

February 5th

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

February 5, 2014

Billy Eugene Coley, 68, of Maiden, died Monday, Feb. 3, 2014 at his residence. In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to Hospice of Catawba Valley, 3975 Robinson Road, Newton, NC 28658.

February 4th

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

February 4, 2014

Fleeta Eckard Cook, age 86, of Hickory, passed away Friday, Jan. 31, 2014 at Abernethy Laurels in Newton. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Cook family.

February 3rd

Saturday, February 1, 2014

February 3, 2014

Phillip “Phil” Talmadge Leonard, age 80, of Catawba, died Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014 at his residence. The Leonard family is in the care of Robert F. Bennett, Funeral Service Licensee, 828-465-2111.

January 31st

Friday, January 31, 2014

January 31, 2014

No obituaries reported

January 30th

Thursday, January 30, 2014

January 30, 2014

Catherine Elizabeth Landis Tuttle, age 95, of Maiden, died Monday, Jan. 27, 2014. Visitation will be on Friday from 1:00-1:40 p.m. at Burke Mortuary in Maiden.

Pauline Byrd Reitzel, age 84, died on Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014 at Brian Center, Hickory East. In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to Trinity Reformed United Church of Christ, 217 2nd Ave. NE, Conover, NC 28613.

January 29th

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

January 29, 2014

James Summy Leatherman, age 73, of Newton, went home to be with his Lord and Savior Jesus Christ on Monday, Jan. 27, 2014 at Conover Nursing and Rehab Center surrounded by his family. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Leatherman family.

January 24th

Friday, January 24, 2014

January 24, 2014

Joshua “Josh” Scott Story, age 25, died Monday, Jan. 20, 2014 at CMC Charlotte. Memorial services will be held Friday, Jan. 24, 2014 at 2 p.m. at E. F. Drum Funeral Home. Visitation will immediately follow the service. Rev. Gary Smits will officiate.

January 23rd

Thursday, January 23, 2014

January 23, 2014

Claude Avery Ballard, Jr., age 69, of Newton, died Tuesday Jan. 21, 2014 at his residence. In lieu of flowers, Memorials may be made to Freedom Biker Church of Hickory, 1385 33rd St SE, Conover, NC 28613.

January 22nd

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

January 22, 2014

Walter Carl “Bud” Hilderbran, age 81, of Newton passed away Monday, Jan. 20, 2014 at Catawba Regional Hospice in Newton. Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Hilderbran family.

Through the trails of being an undrafted rookie, Brian Roberts hard work paid off on Wednesday. The...
Madi Story went out a winner Monday night during the North Carolina Coaches Association East-West...
In a game that included five ejections, the Catawba County Hornets defeated the rival Carolina...

 

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes