Skip to main content

Archive - 2011 - Obituary

December 13th

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

December 13, 2011

Ramona Cornwell Hoyle, 81, of Maiden, died Sunday, Dec. 11, 2011, at Abernethy Laurels in Newton, where she was a resident for nine years. Burke Mortuary in Maiden is serving the Hoyle Family.

Josephine Kale Singleton Burke, 78, of Catawba, died Monday, Dec. 12, 2011 at Catawba Valley Medical Center in Hickory.  Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Burke family.

December 9th

Saturday, December 10, 2011

December 9, 2011

Rosette Matthews Horton, 90, of Abernethy Laurels, went to be with her Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, on Thursday, Dec. 8, 2011, surrounded by her family.  The Horton family has entrusted funeral arrangements to Drum Funeral Home & Cremation in Conover.

Thomas “Tom” Harold Weikel, 84, of Hickory, died Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2011 at the Palliative CareCenter & Hospice of Catawba Valley.  The Weikel family has entrusted the funeral arrangements to Drum Funeral Home & Cremation Services of Hickory.

December 8th

Friday, December 9, 2011

December 8, 2011

Alma Bernice Wagoner Leinbach, 90, of Newton, died Thursday, Dec. 8, 2011 at Palliative CareCenter & Hospice of Catawba Valley.  The Leinbach family has entrusted arrangements to Jenkins Funeral Home & Cremation Service in Newton.

December 7th

Thursday, December 8, 2011

December 7, 2011

Frederick “Fred” George Lampe Sr., 86, of Conover, answered final bells one last time and steamed away into the sunset Monday, Dec. 5, 2011.  The Lampe family has entrusted funeral arrangements to Drum Funeral Home & Cremation Services in Conover.

December 6th

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

December 6, 2011

Frederick George Lampe Sr., 86, of Conover, died Monday, Dec. 5, 2011.
Funeral arrangements are incomplete at Drum Funeral Home & Cremations in Conover.

 

December 5th

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

December 5, 2011

Fannie Lou Newton Sigmon, 83, of Taylors, S.C., died Dec. 5, 2011, after a brief illness at Hospice of the Carolina Foothills in Landrum, S.C.  Familes will be at their respective homes.

Ethel Mae Rinehardt Barkley, 86, of Walker Road, Maiden, died Sunday, Dec. 4, 2011, at her residence.  Burke Mortuary in Maiden is serving the Barkley Family.

December 2nd

Saturday, December 3, 2011

December 2, 2011

Patricia Ann Caldwell Little, 57, of Catawba, died Thursday, Dec. 3, 2011, at the Palliative Care Unit of Wake Forest Baptist Hospital after a long-fought battle with leukemia.  The Little family has entrusted funeral arrangements to Drum Funeral Home in Conover.

Zona Drum Weaver, 96, of Conover, died Friday, Dec. 2, 2011, at Conover Nursing Center.  Arrangements are incomplete with Drum Funeral Home & Cremation Services in Conover.

November 30th

Thursday, December 1, 2011

November 30, 2011

Joseph Daniel “J.D.” Brooks, 74, of Newton, died Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2011 at Palliative CareCenter and Hospice of Catawba Valley in Newton.  Burke Mortuary in Newton is serving the Brooks family.

November 29th

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

November 29, 2011

W. Harold Blackburn, 84, of Newton, died Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2011 at Palliative CareCenter & Hospice of Catawba Valley.  The Blackburn family has entrusted funeral arrangements to Willis-Reynolds Funeral Home & Crematory in Newton.

Blane Bert “Tex” Burchett died Monday, Nov. 28, 2011 at Frye Regional Medical Center.  The Burchett family has entrusted funeral arrangements to Drum Funeral Home & Cremation Services in Conover.

November 25th

Saturday, November 26, 2011

November 25, 2011

Ray Cletus Cansler, 77, of Newton, died Thursday, Nov. 24, 2011 at Palliative CareCenter & Hospice of Catawba Valley. The Cansler family has entrusted arrangements to Jenkins Funeral Home & Cremation Service in Newton.

Louise Berry Sites, 82, of Newton, died Thursday, Nov. 24, 2011 at her residence. The Sites family has entrusted the arrangements to Willis-Reynolds Funeral Home & Crematory in Newton.

Left with a bitter taste in their mouths from a 3-2 loss Sept. 4 against Maiden, the Newton-Conover...
Below is a look at Tuesday's prep sports scores involving Catawba County teams: Volleyball Bandys...
The Newton-Conover football team broke a tie for sixth place in the latest Associated Press prep...

 

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes